Parliamentary Bulletin Part-II
No. 56435 Wednesday, March 8, 2017 Simultaneous Interpretation Service
Arrangements for Simultaneous Interpretation of speeches made in some of the languages listed in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution



Inaddition to providing interpretation of the entire proceedings of the Housefrom Hindi to English and vice-versa,arrangements exist for simultaneous interpretation in English as well as Hindiof the speeches made in the following nine languages subject to the procedurelaid down hereinafter.

  1. Bengali

  2. Gujarati

  3. Kannada

  4. Malayalam

  5. Odia

  6. Punjabi

  7. Tamil

  8. Telugu

  9. Urdu


    Procedure –


  1. Speeches made in the course of debates will beinterpreted from the aforesaid languages into English and Hindi.

  2. Interpretation from the languages into Englishand Hindi will not be available during the period immediately before QuestionHour, when miscellaneous matters not entered in the List of Business are raised,nor will it be available for remarks, observations or interruptions in themidst of regular debates;

  3. A member desirous of making a speech in any ofthese languages may kindly give at least one hour’s notice to that effect tothe officer at the table stating also the language in which he wishes to make aspeech;

  4. Hindiinterpretation will be transmitted on Channels 2 and 5 and Englishinterpretation on channels 3 and 6. Channels 1 and 4 have been earmarked for the floor language.

Shumsher K Sheriff